Blogged By: La Tray

Source & Story Credit: Yahoo Malaysia – Casey Lee

Photo Credit: Yahoo Malaysia

Posted: Thursday May 24, 2012 @12:12 a.m. PST

 

 

Hong Kong martial arts superstar Jackie Chan believes that his action days are numbered and would not be appearing in any more action titles.

According to Asian Bite, Chan said that he would be retiring from action movies after “Chinese Zodiac” because all the high kicks and vigorous tumbles have taken its toll on the 58-year-old, despite many who believe that he could still go on.

“It hurts, it really hurts. The shoulder, the ankle, it really hurts. You don’t know because I still look healthy,” he said while launching “Chinese Zodiac” at the Cannes.

Chan, who plays as a fortune-teller in “Chinese Zodiac”, added that the movie was a fulfillment of his most important film, after he had spent seven years writing, producing, directing and choreographing the fight scenes in the movie on his own.

“For the last ten years I’ve been choosing the director to direct me. This one I direct myself,” he said.

However instead of spending his quiet days gardening, cooking or bowling, Chan is not ready to step out of the limelight just yet, but is practicing his acting chops.

“When I look at Hollywood, at Robert De Niro, he can do anything – comedy, drama. Clint Eastwood who is 60-70 years old, he can still move. I said yes, that’s my goal.”

“Because action stars’ life is so short and an actor’s life is very long, I want to show audiences that I can act,” he said.

Jackie Chan. “When I look at Hollywood, at Robert De Niro, he can do anything – comedy, drama. Clint Eastwood who is 60-70 years old, he can still move. I said yes, that’s my goal.” Story Credit; Casey Lee – Yahoo Malaysia / Photo Credit: Yahoo Malaysia