Jayne Kennedy (Actress-Sportscaster) Then & Now

Blogged By: De De Tillman

Source: Wikipedia

Photos Credit: Google – legendsiconsrolemodels.com – probertencyclopaedia.com – Lipstickalley.com – eurweb.com

Video Credit: YouTube – Ladysugarshaft – 2010Drine

Posted: Sunday February 26, 2012 @ 1:05 A.M PST

JAYNE KENNEDY (THEN)
JAYNE KENNEDY (THEN)
JAYNE KENNEDY (THEN)
JAYNE KENNEDY- OVERTON (NOW)
JAYNE KENNEDY- OVERTON (NOW)

According to Wikipedia, actress Jayne Kennedy was born Jane/Jayne Harrison  was  born October 27, 1951 in Washington, DC. Kennedy – Overton is an American actress, beauty pageant title holder, and sportscaster. She won the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture award for 1981’s movie Body and Soul.

While starting her pageantry career, she met Leon Isaac Kennedy, who was a DJ and a struggling actor/writer. They married in 1970.  Motown’s Smokey Robinson served as best man at the wedding. She and Kennedy divorced in 1982. In 1985 she married actor Bill Overton. They have three daughters, Savannah Re (b. November 20, 1985), Kopper Joi (b. May 17, 1989) and Zaire Ollyea (b. September 15, 1995).

According to a report in the Village Voice, a home movie featuring Kennedy with then-husband Leon engaging in intercourse was one of the earliest known example of a “celebrity sex tape”. The tape was apparently released to the public by Leon after the two had divorced.

I had the honor of meeting both Leon Issac Kennedy and Smokey Robinson while Robinson was promoting his “Soul Food In A Bowl.”

Jayne Kennedy On Wikipedia:JAYNE KENNEDY ON WIKIPEDIA

18 thoughts on “Jayne Kennedy (Actress-Sportscaster) Then & Now

  1. Jayne Kennedy set the trend for beautiful sports anchors on TV and the NFL. It was a shame her pitiful husband Leon tried to exploit her reputation by sharing some of there intimate moments with the public. Glad she moved on with her life.

    1. Hi Shawn,

      I totally agree with you. I meant Leon a few years back, he was traveling with Smokey Robinson promoting Smokey’s Soul Food In A Bowl. What I did not like was the fact Leon allegedly said he used Jayne to boost his own career. Sad Huh?

      Thanks
      De De

  2. I was just watching the episode of Wonder Woman that she stared in and she’s a beautiful woman. I’m only 41 so when this episoded aired I was 5. Natural beauties like her and Linda Carter don’t exist anymore. Also thick or skinny she’s still a beautiful woman

  3. I was and will always be a fan of Jayne Kennedy. But the real story of her life hasn’t been told. She appears to be a very broken hearted person to have let herself go at the very height of her career. After her divorce from Leon Kennedy and remarried to Bill Overton , her life when downhill from that point on. WHY? Many married couples with endometrioses spouse determine the number of kids they want early in there marriage, have the kids in consecutive years, then have the operation. Why did she go 15 years from age 32 to age 45 to have all her children and then her operations to eliminate the endometrioses is a puzzle. In the long processing she let career and herself GO. I saw a picture of her entire family with her last child and she was in the back hiding behind one of her children, because she was so fat.

      1. I celebrated Jayne Kennedy as a fan. After the Body and Soul movie with Leon Kennedy all there fans thought this was the beginning of a great future because of the potential they had displayed and their ten plan which was made when they married was successful. Instead they divorced and she remarried three years later and had her first daughter. The only movie credit was a small part in Mahogany starring Diana Ross. From there only Tab diet commercials and an exercise video. All the potential she had was lost. She bought a farm in Maine, family and friends are in California. She doesn’t dye her hair for that youthful appearance, she doesn’t care about her personal appearance. I’m a fan that celebrated the most beautiful woman in the world, her smile illuminated a full moon at night, her awesome graciousness was an inspiration to many women who inspired to be beautiful. YES, I have a right to ask what happen?

  4. I’ve been told most of my life that I look like Jayne Kennedy and I always felt that was an honor. I appreciate her ability to rise above the celebrity drama and raise a beautiful family–putting them first. A real class act. I hope my resemblance to her goes far beyond beauty. I wish someone would give me the chance to play her in a movie!

    Pamela

  5. The one and only woman in show biz that was and is a great woman on and off the screen. Leon Kennedy was not the man for her I personally think that had he never met her he would have never been heard of, and as we seen never heard of after. Jane will all ways be the best looking and the class est of all time.

  6. Jayne Kennedy was stunningly beautiful; correction, she is stunningly beautiful. Yes, she has gained quite a bit of weight, BUT, that could be the result of being blissfully married for such a long time. And what’s more…., she defied the odds of subsequent marriages being a failure. Halle Berry has NOTHING on her.

    1. I agree 100% According to recent posting/news read, she is working on a memoir titled “Plain Jayne.” I’m sure it will be a great read. I am still a huge fan of hers and her beauty still reigns but it’s her inner beauty that inspires me. Today’s celebrities are so fake and manufactured…….she was genuine and natural so kudos to her!!!

  7. Jayne Kennedy was the tyra banks of the70.80s.weight gain happens to most of us as we age.she still a lady to be proud of.

  8. Like many who came up in the 70s or a child of the 70s, I too was a HUGE fan of Jayne Kennedy. I was captivated by her NATURAL beauty and genuine smile. I can comfortably say I had a female crush on her. Like all black families, we received our copies of JET and Ebony faithfully and she graced the covers of both publications numerous times so during the 80s I began to follow her life and career, although by that time, her television career was on the decline. It sadden me when she feel ill to endometrious, which crippled her career. But I was too happy for her when she remarried and started a family!!! She came across so poised and so humbled. I was always eager to read her interviews and she never let me down. Her resilient spirit proceeded her beauty. It sadden me to read harsh comments about her weight gain and overall physical appearance but I personally think she looks great and it’s good to know that her REAL fans continue to follow and support her!

Leave a Reply

